“Ramen” / Toko Foods

While this was not “ramen” in the most traditional sense, it was still pretty darn tasty. Having been forced off of 12th Avenue, 2 weeks ago, we detoured to 7th Avenue and spotted a Noodle manufacturing company and restaurant. After a quick google search we found that the food was alright but the noodles were well praised so we decided to pick up 1 lb (or 3 packs) of uncooked, freshly made, ramen noodles.

Having tried dashi powder when we were in Japan, I opted for the dried ingredients instead, hoping for a more authentic taste. For ~$5 at Fujiya, it comes with 5 soup satchets and all you have to do is boil it in water for 5 minutes. (Actually, they covered up the instructions with the health information sticker which just wouldn’t come off. But I saw “5 min” and that was as good enough of an instruction as any for me ^^)

How I prepared my stock:

1) I boiled a cup or so of water, then added some sliced ginger and the dashi sachet => let it boil for 5 minutes before adding 2 cups or so chicken stock.

2) Cooked my enoki mushrooms and bean sprout in the stock => fished them out and set to the side

3) I then flavored the stock with salt – (I was aiming for Shio Ramen) – before poaching my eggs.

The noodles, I had cooked in a separate pot, rinsed and drained.

So all that was left was assembling the ingredients, pouring the stock over top, adding some radish sprouts and serve.

The verdict: it was quite nice. I didn’t want to add too much salt because the broth had a nice strong flavor already. So while it wasn’t quite “Shio Ramen” it was a hearty “mushroom ginger ramen” ^^

The ramen noodles reminded us of the kind you can buy in Japan’s grocery stores (also fresh noodles).  There were a lot of brands to choose from – some from larger manufacturing plants that were more generic and others that were from more well known Ramen shops.  These noodles were super convenient as they came with broth packets as well.  We’ve seen some around in the frozen section of Asian markets but they are so overpriced in comparison and are usually the “lower quality” brand – it’s nice to know that we can get “fresh” ramen in Vancouver at decent prices (albeit not the “best” ramen, but still pretty good ^^)

Toko on Urbanspoon

I had also reserved some of my stock which went really well with miso as a sauce for baked black cod and asparagus.

– C.Herb –
Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone (( _ _ ))..zzzZZ

Follow me on Twitter @CarnivorousH
or add Carnivorous Herbivores as a Facebook friend ^^

Location:Home / West 7 Ave


Leave a Reply

