Green Curry Cookies

About a year ago I bought a small tub of thai green curry paste and I started to wonder what could I use it for other than regular saucy curries. That’s when I ran across this recipe.

The dough is so quick and simple to make:

1) Take 1/3 cup of canola oil and whisk with 1/3 cup of icing sugar.

(The recipe calls for coconut cream, which I never have on hand, so I always use 1/4 cup of coconut milk instead)

2) Add the 1/4 cup coconut milk and 1/4 cup green curry paste to (1) and whisk

3) Add 1 and 3/4 all purpose flour + 1/2 tsp baking powder + 1/4 tsp baking soda into (2) and stir together with a spatula

4) Knead the dough to make sure the ingredients have melded together

5) If you feel your dough is too soft to manipulate, refrigerate for 1/2 hour before rolling it out (I didn’t refrigerate mine)

6) Roll out your cookies and cut it into the desired shape (or use a cookie press)

7) Bake at 300’F until golden (half an hour to an hour depending on how you size your cookies – it they are fairly thick, you might want to flip them over halfway through)

The first time I made this, I didn’t have a cookie press so I rolled out the dough between to cookie sheets (this makes rolling and clean-up SO much easier) before taking a cookie cutter and cutting out weiner dog cookies. If you like crunchier cookies (I say cookie, but it’s pretty much a cracker-type) roll your dough thinner or simply bake for longer.

This took up a lot of time and since then I have bought a Wilton cookie press. Using the “ribbon” template – which is what i used to make last nights batch of thicker, clumpy cookies – was much more efficient ^^

I paired the cookies with an Indian beer that was made specifically for curry: the Cobra

Since I don’t drink beer I can’t tell how much it really goes together, but if an Indian restuarant practically cleared out the stock by the time I got to the liquor store – that should mean something ^^

– C.Herb –
Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone (( _ _ ))..zzzZZ

Follow me on Twitter @CarnivorousH
or add Carnivorous Herbivores as a Facebook friend ^^

Leave a Reply

