Araxi

The second night in Whistler was the much anticipated Araxi.


Carn.H had kept it a secret until the very last moment and even then I couldn’t remember why the vaguely familiar name was so special. Here’s a hint: HK (and no, i don’t mean Hong Kong) lol~


After a full day in the sun we decided to sit inside.


We were served multigrain bread balls with a olive tapenade to start.


I’m not a fan of olives but I decided to give it a try and – no, I’m still not a fan. Lol~ Carn.H thought it was “alright”.


We started with some drinks – the Mojito was really good! It went down well and the flavor balance was perfect.


The waiter-recommended Trophy Wife was quite sour. It was… good, but quite tongue numbing. Needless to say it took me a while to finish lol~


We decided to order the the multi-course dinner, although I don’t know why they don’t just call it the four course dinner o.0


Albacore Tuna Roll (c.1)


The freshness and the smooth blended consistency of the tuna was the highlight of this dish. The spicy mayo could have used more flavor and I would have expected freshly grated wasabi root from “fine dining” but otherwise I quite liked this dish.


Beef Tataki (c.1)

“This is the first time I’ve tried it sliced so thick, it is normally quite thin for a delicate, melt-in-your mouth texture. Having said that, the thickness did not matter in this case as the meat was very fresh and had a buttery consistency.” (Carn.H)

The meat had a cured, prosciutto like feel – and even though I’m not a big fan of raw beef, I quite liked it. ^^


Seafood Salad (c.2)

Marinated slow-cooked octopus which was tasteless, chewy and a waste of octopus. It took me a second to figure out what it was and when I confirmed with the waiter he was quite impressed at my observation – either very few realize it is indeed octopus or he really did think I was stupid.


The squid slices were much the same except worse as it crumbled in your mouth after the initial bite.

The smoked salmon really moist, flavorful and oily – but by itself it was not able to save the dish as the rest of the seafood – shrimp, scallop … (that’s all I can remember) was well cooked but bland. The little cucumber balls of flavor (gastronomy) were rendered a little useless as they simply rolled around and did not adhere to the seafood.


Beet Salad with Fresh Mozzarella (c.2)

A good, solid dish. The baby beets were cooked perfectly and the mozzarella was quite fresh. The dressing… wasn’t very memorable at all which was ok since the greens were more like garnish then anything.


I chose a Riesling to go with my main course. I’m not an expert in wine so I can’t tell you much except that it was a good sweetness and went down easily.

It did, however, take four tries for them to get it right.

Try 1
C.Herb: “Excuse me, but there’s some specks floating around in my wine … Would you mind getting me another one?”
Waiter: “Oh! Wine naturally has filiments that aren’t always filtered out, but I’ll get you another glass.”

Try 2:
C.Herb: “I’m sorry, but there are still some specks floating about”
Waiter: “It’s probably just this particular wine, would you like to try another wine? It won’t make a difference even if it’s a new bottle”
.
Ok, another wine it is.
.
Try 3:
Waiter: “I just talked to the sommelier an it turns out I was mistaken, wine should never have filaments – it must have been from the drying cloth, so she personally dried this glass and it should be fine!”
C.Herb: *awkward laugh* “sorry, but there’s still some specks on the glass”
Waiter: “It should be fine now – oh! I see it now, our lighting is not as well over there. We’ll fix that”

Try 4:
C.Herb: “Yea, this one looks ok”

Lol~ there was still a single speck at the bottom but I’d given up… I wonder though, what the next excuse would have been.

Σ( ̄。 ̄ノ)ノ


Bordeaux – which was ‘very “Bordeaux-y”, heavy in the tannins and musky’.


Wild BC Salmon (c.3)


The *best* salmon I’ve ever had to date
☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆

The risotto was … edible, despite the large amount of butter it was floating in.


Yarrow Farm Duck Breast- good… but not impressive. The duck was tender, the flavors were mild and showcased the true flavor of the duck – but in comparison, it’s not too much different from a Chinese roasted duck to warrant the much higher price tag.

I’m not a fan of gnocchi so I can’t tell u whether this was a good representation or not – but – I can tell you that it was doughy/gooey but slightly gritty at the same time. The flavor was quite mild and really didn’t taste like much other than cooked dough…


\(//∇//)\ awwww… This was so sweet of them – and I think it was even the pastry chef that served me…


… What was even sweeter though, was the piping hot chocolate lava inside. I think the flavors were meant to balance out in the end but the rubbery overcooked cakey exterior was not a very welcoming companion.

While I was disappointed with that portion of the dessert – the nicely flavored Earl Grey ice cream more than made up for the fondant.


Orange Blossom Creme Brûlée with flourless pistachio squares. The Creme Brûlée was a tad sweet but otherwise delicious with light notes of mandarin-like flavors ^^

The pistachio squares on the other hand were an unnecessary attempt at making this common-ish dessert a little more unique.


Complimentary “mints” – SO good – I thought these little morsels were even tastier than the actual desserts we were served.


A coconut tart of a sorts – a creamy buttery yet not greasy sponge packed with flavor.


Mint Macaroons with Chocolate – perfectly made macaroons with a lovely crunch and flavor ratio.


Culinary Mindset: Whistler/”fine dining”
Likelihood of Revisiting: 50/50

– C.Herb –
Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone (( _ _ ))..zzzZZ

Location:Whistler, BC

Araxi on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

